Battlestar Galactica Online Open Beta

“In Battlestar Galactica Online, both the Colonial and Cylon fleets find themselves stranded in an unexplored area of space at the very edge of one of the galactic arms. Heavily damaged and critically low on resources, both fleets race against time to repair and rearm, struggling for control of systems rich in Tylium, metals and water. The Colonial fleet desperately searches for a way to escape and continue the search for Earth before the Cylons gain enough strength to destroy them once and for all”

Check out the game here


Battlestar Galactica Online open beta started today so I thought I’d give it a test flight. The browser based MMO allows you to take sides with either the humans or the Cylons and take part in a story where both fleets have been transported by a mysterious energy wave to an unknown sector of the galaxy. This is still in beta obviously so don’t be surprised to find bugs…and you will find them. I’ve currently given up exploring anymore of the game tonight as I’ve found my game crashing, browser compatibility problems and various in game text looking like it’s been smudged. I did get to test the Cylon faction a little so let’s take a look at what you get to do.

So far, bugs aside, the experiance has been enjoyable. I started off with the tutorial, learning how to fly/enable weapons and fire missles (which have the same awesome sound as the series). Whilst in the flight part of the game you’ll be treated to excerpts from the original score for the series by composer Bear McCreary,I loved hearing the track Black Market from season 2 kick in as I engaged a squadron of Vipers, dodged their weapons fire and pumped them full of Cylon missiles. I then went onto the character creation area. Sadly I encountered a bug where both the text for each customisation option and the 3d avatar itself were slightly blurred meaning I didn’t know what I was truly ending up with until I finished making my toaster. I’m hoping that somewhere down the line I’ll be able to alter the look of my avatar again as I’m not entirely happy with him just yet. What I did find cool was being able to have battle damage to give your Cylon that extra detail.

After grabbing my Cylon I proceeded to explore my Basestar and met a few of the cast of the series. The game currently features 4 of the original 12 Human-Cylon models who provide missions and information. There’s a Six an Eight (Cavil) a One (Sharon) who also handles anything regarding your ship such as selling you ammo, new weapons and repairing, and a two (Leoben). It’s nice to see the cast again and perhaps down the line we’ll get to have missions involving some of these or other human-Cylon models.

Overall I’ve enjoyed my first hour or so on Battlestar Galactica Online, I hope to test it out a bit further during the week and getting a taste of the Colonial fleet…I have to admit however I have ambitions of enslaving the human race so be nice to your toasters…or you might end up with more than burnt toast.

Leave a Reply

